Zootropolis – film

Zootropolis

Over easter I saw the new animated film Zootropolis. While I like anime, I’m not a big fan of cartoons or animated films normally, but I did enjoy this film. I liked it because the characters, whilst animal, were human like in behaviour and appearance (standing upright, wearing clothes etc) which meant you could relate to the characters in ways you normally can’t with others animated films. There was a lot of focus on stereotypes and withholding or subverting them within the film which was interesting for me as I often consider stereotypes when creating characters myself. What was more intriguing though was that the backgrounds of the character were explored which showed why the  chose to conform to or subvert the stereotypes, something I look into when designing characters in stories or art when I think about what made them who they are and how to portray them.

 

(image from: http://www.empirecinemas.co.uk/synopsis/3d_zootropolis/f4903)

Leave a Reply

