ProMarker pens – review

image.jpgLetraset ProMarkers are a UK brand of artist quality marker pens, in many ways similar to copic markers although cheaper and non-refillable.

I own two of the manga colour sets of these pens with the addition of individually brought grey and black, and I now use them as one of my two main mediums in my artwork.

Frm personal experience, I’ve found that the marker pens, although non-refillable, have a long life. The oldest pens of the ones I have are about a year old and, even with regular use, have yet to run out or need replacing.

The colours in the pens are bold and stand out which is what most appeals to me about them, they often give a paint-like effect to artwork. The colour of then no, unsurprisingly, doesn’t match the label of the pen exactly, so I found it best to create a colour chart to use as reference, but this is something I’d reccomend doing with any material to get a more accurate representation of the colours.

the blender oen that comes with thsetsI have can be difficult to use, but once you get th hang of it, it gives a smoother look to the colour blends which is appealing to look at and seems more professional.

The markers, like most, are known to bleed on paper and special promarker paper is recommended, I however, have found that artist quality paper of weight 135gsm works well with the pens and had minimal bleed from the ink. The pens work effectively on their own or, as I discovered through experimentation, as a base layer of colour with coloured pencil layered on top for added texture and more colour blending.

In my opinion, these pens are of excellent quality and are great for making bold illustrations.

Leave a Reply

